Posted in Uncategorized

Birthdays

It was my birthday yesterday and thanks to my mother our family sees birthdays as important and they really are designed to contribute to wellbeing. I was brought up with the notion that your birthday was a very special day and that ti was the one day of the year you could call your own, tend to your whims and fancies and call the shots. Not in any selfish kind of way because part of it was about the fun of sharing something nice with other people. My Mum is gone but the tradition carries on. The week is for visits from friends who enjoy bringing presents, sharing something nice to eat and sitting having a srink and chat. It’s a celebration of realtionships really. The weekend is reserved for the family and the family birthday celebration. This year I have chosen to go out to eat, but other years I have cooked a BBQ or we have cooked a meal at home and it’s just as nice. The one day you get to focus on yourself…and then when it’s someone else’s turn I really enjoy thinking about how I can fuss over them for one day. It makes a difference. The flowers are always there as is the nice food and the lovely presents. My unexpected present was waking up with a cold. Not a surpise really because ti’s been really hot and when you put the air condioner on it’s too cold and when you turn it of it’s too hot…so hot, cold, hot, cold…no ownder I have a cold but the timing!!! A couple of years I was in hospital for my birthday. Better than that and it’s still about looking after yourself and doing what you need to do to be well.

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

