Posted in Uncategorized

All teed up

Begging your pardon
But haven’t you
Been ignoring me
A bit lately
Lost on the green
With the shiny
Silver sticks
And the little white balls
Come now
I was hesitating
To raise the matte
For fear of
Being ignored
As you huffed
And puffed
But I am
Avoided anyway
Replaced by the fairway
I have no handicap
To speak of
Other than not
Being fashionably
Anorexically shiny
Would that help
Forgive me for
Interrupting
Your leisure time
With my heart
Remember me
I am not a ghost
Sitting here unseen
Do you need
A cut lunch and compass
To relocate me
I guarantee
I am more worthwhile
Than a putter
So, that’s settled then
I’ll play with you tomorrow
Out on the green
If I have to.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

