Posted in Uncategorized

Lamb roast

Lifestyle: “I especially like using rosemary when I’m making roast lamb.”
Me too. In fact today I did just that. It was my brother in law’s birthday and instead of going out I volunteered to cook a lamb roast because we have stopped doing that. Partly because it has become expensive and partly because we all eat a lot less fat these days and partly because the trend of cooking a roast seems to have gone out of vogue. I used fresh rosemary, a splosh of sherry and an onion for the flavouring. I cooked pumpkin and potatoes with the roast and lots of winter veggies as the accompaniment. I even bothered to make onion gravy with fresh thyme from scratch and that was really delicious. My sister came to the party by bringing the best ever chocolate orange cake with citrus cream to go with it. It was the most amazing chocolate cake I had ever tasted and she too had slaved over a hot stove. Topped with good coffee and a bottle of local champagne and it was a memorable birthday feast which made us all glow with the warmth of lovely human company and conversation. The weather was cold and rainy , so it was just perfect. Perfect. It made us all realise how a lovely meal around a family table is something to be cherished and something which makes you feel strong and happy. We have plans to do it again!

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

