Posted in Uncategorized

Seasonal Affective Disorder

Health : “One Norwegian study has even indicated that 11 per cent of women and 5 per cent of men in the country have experienced episodes of SAD.”

That’s me all over. Put the sun away and I am soooo SAD. I feel down, miserable. I feel out of sorts, never well. I am always cold and I don’t know what to do with myself. I am like a daisy with the petals shut. As soon as the sun comes out, I open up and I am a different person. I hate wet, cold, miserable, grey. There is nothing in it for me. I have made an effort to get outside when I can but it’s no fun. It’s too bloomin’ cold and everything is wet! I am such a pain because I do appreciate the winter greenery and the green hills and the lovely flowers which come out in winter. I love seeing the birds back and happy too, so I do try to be grateful. For me, winter is woolly jumpers, scarves, cloves…and now coats. Woolly blankets. I just spent the whole time rugged up. I so much prefer the heat where you can run around in shorts and a tank top. Just go outside, breathe, potter and enjoy the glorious light days. Read the article. it’s for people like me who need all the help they can get with the winter blues.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

