Posted in Uncategorized

Swimming

Health : “Not long ago the idea of plunging into an icy sea in the middle of winter was more nightmare than thrill.”

This person now loves swimming in the icy ocean and looks upon it as an adventure! Rather her than me!! No way would I get in the freezing cold water. Has to be at least 35 before I set foot in the water. I am such a sook, but I am also so much in favour of warm tropical waters. This woman tells you why she has changed everything around to be her own personal hero and why she sets herself such a challenge. We all need to do that. I did go into my freezing cold swimming pool in the middle of winter to save a poor cat which was soaked and traumatised. It was hiding in my filter box and I couldn’t coax it out. I had to go in the pool in the freezing cold and convince it I was worth trusting. I got it out after a while, dried it all off and away it ran. Poor thing. That’s how much I love animals. I spent the rest of the morning soaking in the tub feeling I needed to but also like I’d done something wonderfully grand. I wouldn’t do it, though, just for the sake of doing it!

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

