Posted in Uncategorized

Winter chill burns grocery dollars

Winter chill burns grocery dollars : “Drought, flood and frosts have conspired to make much fresh produce scarce this winter.”

The drought has had its impact and will continue to do so. When we lost all of our bananas through Cyclone Larry people were thrown for a while and then shifted to pears, apples and persimmons. Some still bought bananas if they could to support our farmers. Now we have to look at the prices when we shop because of the drought in summer. It means we have to be flexible. It means we can grow a few things in the garden and in pots to help stretch the budget…but the fresh tastes are irreplaceable. I think most of us have adapted and managed. I always find it cheaper to shop in winter because there are some good prices on various foods and soups and casseroles are delicious , hearty and not expensive.A lady at work gave me a fantastic recipe for Malaysian curry chicken wings . It tastes amazing and is not expensive.Vegetables and fruit I buy locally so it’s what is in season and what is available. I grow some of my own. My lemons are lovely at the moment so I have plenty for cooking and drinks. I love fresh lemon! I think if you work with the farmers and producers you can get your food at reasonable prices. It does mean you have to think and plan and it does mean you might have to create some new menus. I like that.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

