Posted in Uncategorized

Life’s feverish pitch killing us

Life’s feverish pitch killing us : “‘The level of background noise today might not damage your hearing directly, but it can lead to other health problems such as an increase in stress, negative effects on concentration, and others,’ says Cowan.”

There was a programme earlier in the week about the brain and it was saying that quietness is what you need for inspirational thoughts and to know that you have had them. You don’t quite realise how noisy modern living is until you get away from it. On my first trip to NZ I was on the south island. So peaceful, so quiet and it took some getting used to. When I came back I started stressing because my neighbourhood seemed so noisy and it’s not really. I heard every mechanical noise, every not natural noise. It was weird. The next couple of trips to NZ didn’t affect me like that but I have learned the value of real peace and quiet. You cover yourself with layers and layers of defense mechanisms and you are oblivious to that until you are completely at peace and know what the real you really is. We do harm ourselves with noise pollution there is no doubt about that. Important to get away from it all and to insist upon it.

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

