Posted in Uncategorized

Your Outboard Brain Knows All

Your Outboard Brain Knows All: “My point is that the cyborg future is here. Almost without noticing it, we’ve outsourced important peripheral brain functions to the silicon around us.”

A lively article which raises some interesting issues about our technological dependence and our continued capacity to think independently. It made me think. I love being able to look any thing up when I do not know. In that sense I am more informed. My blogging has really contributed to my knowledge. In any given group I am part of I tend to know more than others and I have ready access to factual information because blogging makes you think and integrate that knowledge into your own database. I am considered an authority because I know!! So I’d say technology has contributed well and effectively to my ever growing brain! To ensure this then I make sure I put myself at risk technologically…by learning new software, a new OS, a new gadget. Nothing like databases to force a literary brain into chaos and ensure it HAS to learn!! Technology is for me a tool, not a substitute…and I thank this article for helping me think about what my position is. I rest my case.

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

