Posted in Uncategorized

World Vision

I wrote to my sponsored child in Africa online today. I usually do snail mail so I can put pictures in the letter because I do it on my computer. Online is good though when you are really busy and it means the child still hears from you. I was really glad of the service today. I have his little Christmas present to organise tomorrow. World Vision organises that so that each child has something simple which represents your country of origin. It means all children are treated equally. I got the newest photo of him a couple of weeks ago and he has grown big this year. He is so cute and has just started school. I sponsor him because it brings me down to earth. I make a difference in his life and it’s obvious. It makes me feel better and it means I have nothing to complain about. At work we are collecting money to buy goats for an African village. That too is offered through World Vision and we have actually had a lot of fun raising the money and working out how many goats we have bought. Last year I contributed to two other community projects and it makes me feel so much better. World Vision sends out a brochure once in a while so you get a really good idea of what happens with sponsored children and community projects. I took too long to make up my mind to sponsor. I kept thinking about it and then didn’t get around to it. I feel very silly now because it is so easy and so satisfying. It’s as important to the sponsored people as it is to me.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

