Posted in Uncategorized

Confident negotiating

I have been practising talking calmly and carefully about things and not reacting to provocation. it hasn’t been easy, but I am proud of myself. I had to make a really tricky call yesterday to do with a financial muddle on the part of a company. I prepared well. I got all the relevant correspondence, I got the sequence of dates written down with the actions. I ran over it in my head and then I went and had a couple of cheerful conversations to get me in the right frame of mind. This had been a monumental stuff up on their part and I could have gone in in a very accusing, aggressive way telling them how daft they were. I connected to the right person and then asked if they would be able to hep me understand why there was this certain amount on their statement. Did I have the figure for something? No, did they? I was told to ring back with the figure. Hm. Not good. So I located that figure, did not get put off, waited an hour and rang back. Different person. Asked again about whether they could help me understand an item on their statement. As I spoke I dropped in the other paperwork I knew about . I was put on hold. I id some tidying up of my computer and felt quite pleased with myself. They got back to me and said they needed to work on it for another day. Instead of getting miffed, I just said that was okay and they could only work as fast as they could. Within an hour they were back to me with the problem solved! It’s the second time I have done this. It’s about attitude and remembering that computers are storing information all over the place and the person at the end of the line is just like me..trying to get it all right. Patience!! Breathe in, breathe out!

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

