Posted in Uncategorized

Positive thought has no power over cancer

Positive thought has no power over cancer : “Kylie Minogue, whose breast cancer was diagnosed on the eve of her 2005 Australian tour, said she always tried to retain a positive attitude. ‘Always one to rise to the challenge, I thought, ‘OK, OK, you’ve got to fight it’. Even the smallest thing makes a difference,’ she said in an interview last year.”

The people I know with cancer who have been supremely optimistic have survived and have beaten it. I am not sure how they have done it and how their mental state is different from others who appear positive but there is a difference. It has been more like denial and then a fatalistic state if it’s meant to be , it’s meant to be. At this stage this study is saying the state of mind makes no difference. Maybe not…but I do think a Zen approach to life seems to be more helpful in terms of the people I know. Maybe it’s just those I know and I certainly know that cancer can get you even if you are positive. I still believe there is a particular frame of mind which can beat it, but it is very difficult to define. it’s spiritual in lots of ways and beyond words. may the Force be with you sort of stuff and that is not very scientific.

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

2 thoughts on “Positive thought has no power over cancer

Leave a Reply

