Posted in Uncategorized

Looking for the right food

Health : “But with supermarkets now stocking thousands of food items, there’s too much to choose from – a process made harder when marketing hype implies a product is healthier than it really is.”

It can be a challenge but here we spend most of our time reading labels and packaging in the supermarkets and if it has chemicals and undesirables the packet goes back on the shelf. We even share ideas in the aisles and read packets for those who have forgotten their glasses. For me, I rarely buy a packet. I’ll check cans and jars assiduously and I’ll look at the ingredients in fridges and deli counters. Yoghurt can be full of rubbish or really good. Same with dips. I look for the food with ingredients and check the order because that’s generally the quantities. On the whole I buy plain and don’t go much for mixes. I buy peas. I buy ginger. I make my pasta and curry sauces and have good recipes for biscuits and cake. I keep it simple. Bread I will only buy if it has no additives. This article gives a lot of practical, common sense ideas to get you on the right track. I always remember that companies look for a profit at any price. They’ll cut ingredients to make their profit margin bigger. When I eat I want to eat properly, so I am mindful the food I buy is actually food.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

