Posted in Uncategorized

The Biggest Loser 2008

The Biggest Loser is up and running and what a show! It was a great start to the season and yes, Shannon looks “buff” as one of the contestants said and Michelle is very thin but she is so fit. It looks like Bob and Jillian will be back and they are so fantastic to watch because they are expert at getting the best out of people. It’s great 30 people have a chance and that way more people benefit and there are more people to identify with which ought to increase the impact of the show on the community. Adro looks bloomin’ awesome and if he hasn’t repaid time and again the faith the show had in him..well, just look at him. He looks younger, fitter , happier. What an advert. As were the contestants from last year that we have seen so far. I am glad they have 30 because the Commando deserves a good shot at this after last year’s success and besides, there are those who just spit the dummy and walk off and they should be cut loose and replaced by someone who values the gifts the show can give them. My favourite so far is Sean on the left. He needs all the help he can get . I am all too well aware his life is on the line. It made me laugh how people talked about heart conditions and death and had no idea what that actually meant. I know what that means. You can’t just run it glibly through a sentence. I have nursed someone recently who had 2 valves replaced and a bypass. I watched the leg, I watch the chest where they had cut him open, his struggling to breathe and move. I watched his fears and terror and then the enormous courage. Sean doesn’t need to be like that. He has got an idea of what this means. He realises what it means to have his life on the line. Like the person I nursed there’s a line you cross. The heart valves failing stopped him from walking and cycling and were stopping him from breathing. He couldn’t get fit unless something drastic occurred. He had got so overweight because his body couldn’t move because of the valves failing. Sean has all that weight around his stomach. He needs help and he knows it. He has a strong spirit and he is kind and supportive to others. I want to see him get well. I want to see him spared open heart surgery. I have a feeling his strength will help others along the way. So…let the games begin!!

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

