Posted in Uncategorized

Salt reduction campaign

Salt reduction campaign could benefit from a sprinkling of advice on herbs : “Many Australian food companies, research institutes, individuals, and non-government organisations are behind the campaign to reduce salt intake from a current average of 9g per person daily to 6g or less within the next five years.”

When you don’t eat much salt you can really taste the salt in packaged food…so I avoid tinned and packaged food as much as I can and just cook simply. Herbs are a great substitute for salt because they can vary the taste in sometimes a quite sensational way. I keep pots of fresh herbs because there is no comparison in the taste. Fresh basil and tarragon are brilliant. Rosemary is great for pasta dishes and I am always adding springs of parsley to my salads..I love parsley!!

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

