Posted in Uncategorized

The Biggest Loser 2008

Now that we all know we are entitled to Kirsten as the first female biggest loser, I’ll dab my eyes and get on with the post. I’m with Sam. Loyalty does count for a lot and that is not something Kirsten has shown Sam. He owes her nothing because she has been single minded and loyal only to Alison and shown that Sam was not worthy of her support.He has never let her down and yet she always expresses doubt. That was her 3rd time under the yellow line. Once courtesy of Garry’s weight swap which was heinous game rules and twice she did it all by herself. Then there is the small matter of the uncalled for casting of aspersions with regard to Bryce who had already shown beyond a shadow of a doubt he could take any challenge on and roll with the punches. So the true Blues did in Garry and that’s when I started to get wet. Garry has come a long way and since he has been with the others he has achieved a better sense of self and balance. He needed room to breathe, grow and make his own decisions in a safe environment. Garry has spent most of the show feeling vulnerable and I thought it was him. Since we have been down to the final 5 and then 4, Garry has learned really fast. I was actually sad to see the big guy go because he has come such a long way and he actually is all heart. Sam continues to be the one to impress since he would be proud to be first , second or third and so he is honouring the place he has had in the show and honouring the amount the show has given him. He said Shannan had given him a life. This is a young man who can appreciate what he has been given and I know he will give it his best shot, and why not? He has been mucked about a lot and has still got there, kind heart and all. Alison…I keep wanting to go and get her a whole heap of creams from L’Occitane and just feed that skin of hers. It is so fine and delicate and looks like it needs to be bien soignée…have some TLC. I was surprised she didn’t hug her lovely son and went straight for the little girls and her husband was just so glad to see her! I lost it when Sam went home. I couldn’t believe it. The tears were just trickling down my face because this Sam has never been young and carefree. He has been this hugely fat thing who was depressed and losing out on life. Now he is thin, happy, a bit startled by it all and a beautiful person who has never gone to the dark side. A pure heart …and a young one now. Garry I was so proud of. He looked so confident and well..so different. He’ll do okay. So…now we wait and it will be a fantastic finale, there is no doubt about that. No doubt. This series has produced winners and the contestants and trainers need to be applauded for such an inspirational journey. I want Sam and Alison to win and I don’t care who comes first and who comes second because I think they are both deserving and have both been decent human beings.

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

