Posted in Uncategorized

Benefits of Blogging

I like this blog. It doesn’t get a lot of traffic except when I blog about The Biggest Loser but it has certainly rewarded me in lots of ways. mainly by keeping me focussed on wellbeing. I am still perplexed as to why people wouldn’t find wellbeing things of benefit to them and then not visit wellbeing blogs. As I said when I started I wondered why so many wellbeing blogs were dead. Probably because they lacked traffic and for most peopel that is an incentive to blog. No, this one for me is wonderfully self indulgent. I follow my curisosity and the leads life gives me and I have leaned so much. My main blog draws plenty of traffic but it is more about what is happening in the world. Again I learn a lot. So let me look at my five main benefits from blogging.

1. I constantly learn. I learn a lot about what I am interested in. I learn how to do new things. I learn about hwat works and doesn’t work for me and my knowledge is kept current.

2. I have a voice. Blogging is very self indulgent. It’s about what I choose. What I want to say and what I am thinking. It really is about me.

3. It has given me a lot of rewards. I get some good contact with people through blogging and I know I have people “out there” who look after my blogs if I cannot blog for whatever reason. There is a community out there which is very caring so that becomes a reward in itself.

4. It makes me flexible. I do have to become aware of what worked and what doesn’t. I do have to be prepared to try new things and take up new directions. You cannot stand still when you are blogging and you learn to be more accommodating of the changing needs of the world.

5. It’s fun. There are gadgets, widgets, customisations and then a lot of other blogs which you discover which are just pure joy. It can be very playful and you can amuse yourself sometimes thinking of funny or differnt things to do on your blog.

I have noticed bloggers often run more than one blog and I am no different. they all serve a different purpose. Some are more spontaneous blogs than others but the person’s main blog is the one which is really an extention of themselves whereas the others tend to be purpose built blogs. It’s all in a blogger’s day and it continues to be intersting.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

