Posted in Uncategorized

Walking

Walk to remember for the over-50s | The Australian

MEMORY loss is widely considered as one of the banes of old age, but a world-first Australian study suggests that people over 50 who walk for just 2 1/2 hours a week can halt and even reverse it.

Walking is easy and important. It has made me happy to see a lot more people out walking. I think it makes for a safer, friendlier neighbourhood. Kids love it and adults benefit from it. It’s a natural thing to do and it’s good to see we are coming up with the reasons for walking. Good reasons. Our lifestyle tends to make everyone sit no matter what age. So it’s nice to be outside and have people who say hello as they walk past …and it’s nice to say hello as you walk past. I always feel better when I walk. When I go on holidays, I never take or hire a car. I walk. It’s a good way to get to know a new place and its people. It also means you slow down and rest. We seem to think we have to do everything at a fast pace , including exercise. No, walking is good!

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

2 thoughts on “Walking

  1. Wow — I used to walk, but lately have not had time. I suppose I need to make the time. You’re so right. I know I’ll be happier.Also sweatier. It’s really hot even in the early morning and evening here in New Orleans. (I read your comment on Tim’s Nameless Blog and followed the link.)Anyway, you’ve inspired me.–Angelle

    Like

  2. I hope you do and good luck in New Orleans. Walking is great and yes, you can get sweaty…but there’s a lot worse you could be doing! it does make you feel better I like hot. Adelaide has been so cold this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

