Posted in Uncategorized

Attitude

In July or thereabouts I bought a Nintendo DS and amused everyone because I am considered too old for a games thing. One of the programmes I got was the Health Coach. Nintendo doesn’t realise there is a market out there waiting for something more intelligent and helpful by way of “games.” I found the Health Coach to be very cheerful and positive and it got me smiling within minutes. So a new attitude to my health was born. It’s small and compact so it’s a go anywhere piece fo equipment and it can keep me amused with its challenges. The challenges give you insight into your health attitudes and they give you a chance to be encouraged. The biggest bonus was it came with a pedometer. Me? With a pedometer? Okay, so I wore it to work and on the first day I did over 5000 steps. On the sencond day I did 8500. When you are given the information that 100 steps is a minute then I began to realise that all my complaining about running around was ill founded. At work I was contributing about an hour’s walking to my health routine. That really did change my attitude. Now instead of feeling exhausted from running around, I now look forward to seeing how much I have added to my health in terms of walking. It’s all in the attitude.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

