Posted in Uncategorized

Arachnophobia

Spider-spooked may web master fear | The Australian

AUSTRALIAN phobia researchers say they fear a huge response to their free online arachnophobia treatment may crash their new website – but still want “guinea pigs” to test it out.

It is a terribly paralysing condition because I once suffered from it. I wouldn’t even go in the house or the building if I thought there was a spider there. I have been lucky I originally had co workers who just removed the spider for me so I could go back into my office. At home, alone…I just would not go in my house. I have friends and family I can laugh with about it now, but at the  time I felt really stupid but powerless. having children helped me because I was not going to pass that terrible fear on and so was motivated to work on it. I did work out a process of desensitising and then this haouse has cured me because there are so many spiders of so many varieties. I still refuse to have an 8 legged thing in my home, hairy or not, but I am no longer paplysed and can deal with them and have worked out a process of dealing with them. I think this site is a brilliant idea and I should liek to think it will be of great help to people. If they can do the research they can modify it and help epople. A lot of people won’t own up to it. A website might help.

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

