Posted in Food, FSANZ, nanofood

Nanofood

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand want food labelled to help consumers identify which food have nanofoods in them. I think we need that but I also think we need to take a step back and get some community awareness going. Nano particles are tiny. Nanofoods are new and the side effects won’t be known for a while. So I think we need to go down the track of making consumers aware of what nanofoods are, how and why they have come about and what they do. I don’t know what they do and I don’t know whether they would harm me or not. manufacturers need to explain their side of it, nanofood technologists need to explain what they can do and then our consumer watch dogs need to get onto it, as they obviously are and explain to us the pitfalls. There has got to be more to health and nutrition than shelf life.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

