Posted in relaxation, Stress Busting, time management

Drive Time

When I am driving to work I am very lucky, I have a superb view of the coastline. It’s the same if I catch the train. Often when we go to work we get lost in work worries even before we get there. It took a while but I have learned to use my drive or travel time to work as a plus time for me. On the train I like to watch other people and try and guess about them. On Adelaide trains they are often reading so you get to know some good books. I make sure I look at the ocean and the views because they just make me feel so well. In the car I listen to talk back radio and have learned so much at that time in the morning. They get some good experts in. I also play my favourite CDs or my yoga music if I am feeling stressed. I can also learn a language in that time and brush up on my skills. I wouldn’t learn a new language in drive time, but you can get a CD and go over some of the basics so you can communicate with others. It makes them feel good and they help you more and I have found I get some good cultural tips, tricks and recipes that way …just because I have shown a bit of interest. That in itself makes me feel good with very little effort on my part.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

