Posted in interpersonal relationships, kindness, social behaviour, Society and Culture

Comfort and Ease

I always used to be awkward in social situations. I was okay once I got going. One day I decided I’d just not worry and take things into my own hands and do the icebreaking. From there it just grew. I have always made a point of making people feel good in their own skin. I make sure newcomers are welcome at work. I make sure people are feeling like they belong. I make a point of noticing if someone feels awkward or left out. I even chat away on the phone when I make routine business calls. The difference at the other end is amazing. If something goes wrong I just say , “It’s okay, we all have bad days,” and suddenly there is an ease in any transaction so that now , in shops, staff rememeber me and I even have business people calling ME back to say things have been resolved. It’s about understanding we are all having a hard time, it’s not nice to be the newbie,  that for anyone at the end of the phone anything could be happening in their life. I have never looked back and it it now so much a part of my personality I thrive on it and I am seeing others thrive because kindness just grows and grows. Start with that first step in reaching out. You’ll be rewarded.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

2 thoughts on “Comfort and Ease

  1. I think people have become wary and suspicious of others and that is something which I refuse to pay attention to. I don’t like living in a world where we cannot reach out for fear of being used, attacked, played for a sucker…I always try and make others feel at ease these days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

