Posted in Uncategorized

Bring on the birds

I am pretty proud of the fact I kept the birds in my garden while it was so hot. On the really hot days in the mid forties they vanished, but then came back and now it is cooler I have had a lot of different birds. They make me happy to watch them but hey cheer people up on the phone when I am out the back talking to them. They love the neighbour’s big gum tree but I always keep the bird bath full of water and make a point of it. They like the fuschsias and the natives I have, so they flit around and then when the fruit trees have fruit I get a few birds in to eat some of the fruit at the top of the trees. One year though, when it was really hot, the rosellas ate all my nectarines. Everyone of them was pecked! I find the nests about the place too when i am pruning so they really have made my garden home and that cheers me up enormously. It has a big vegie patch down the back and they go in there rummaging and are quite happy doing that and then it’s a good place for me to watch them from the top of the garden. I know I have lizards too because I have seen their broken eggs in the ferns. I shall probably never see them but it’s nice to know they are there. Tends to suggest the garden is healthy even if I am in despair from theheat damage.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

