Posted in Uncategorized

In the moment

I hate that expression being in the moment. It just irritates me. I think, however, I have finally worked out what that means…to be in the moment. We have been through worrying and harrying times. We have all been driven, frantic, frazzled and stressed to the max. It has a big impact on how you feel. Sometimes you are so stretched you want to scream or you get cranky. Sometimes you are too exhausted and worn out. It registers as apathy and illness. No one would drive a car the way we have been driving ourselves. You’d expect trouble. So , since I started this blog I have been making an effort to fix myself. by that I mean get myself into a spce where I can feel at home in myself. I don’t feel like I am constantly being invaded and overloaded. So the blog has forced me to focus on the things which make me well and the things I care about and give me pleasure. By doing that, bit by bit I have been recliming myself and my life. I can now sit and read again. I can watch birds and not worry. I can sit at the computer and not be thinking about all the things I have to think about. When I am doing anything, I can now focus on simply that. When I am with people, I don’t wish they would go away so I can do all this stuff. I spend time and smile with them. I talk and just enjoy their company…and then I do the next thing. It has taken a long time and a lot of discipline because I had truly forgotten how to just be there and do whatever was there and be with whomever was there. I am starting to feel like all the bits of me are at peace again.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

