Posted in Uncategorized

A good book does you good

I have got my reading back. I have never quite abandoned reading but I used to read a lot and was always happy reading. Then work swamped my life and took over my time. I have been reclaiming my life over the last two years. You become too narrow when you do nothing but work…and too inflexible. You forget that life is made of so many things and not just the things they are telling you are important. I was lucky to get books for Christmas and my birthday so I had a few good books to read and my friends and family were maybe trying to give me a message! I am lucky they chose so well because I have been reading a whole lot of really good books about all sorts of different things. The settings in different parts of the world have been good and it’s just nice to lose yourself in a good story. A book can go anywhere and you can wake up at the weekend and do a bit of reading or flop on the bed when you get home from work and read. Your head empties. Your pulse rate goes down…you relax and get lost in the imagination stirred by well penned words. It is just lovely.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

