Posted in Uncategorized

Look after your eyes

Had my biennial check at the optometrist’s today. Fascinating experience because he now has software to capture images of the backs of my eyes. I thought I would find it scary but it wasn’t. I saw my two round eyeball, with small red veins and then the patch of light from the machine and my macular tissue! My macular tissue is okay. I found this all very reassuring. The great thing about this is now they can build up data bases to cross reference age and illness. It means they can be really proactive in preventative eye treatment. I agreed to have this done. It wasn’t a normal part of the practice as yet as it is with dentistry. I figure it’s good to have copies of my eyes so they can see things and not have to remember. I also got really good frames this time and am really looking forward to getting my glasses. The other helpful thing was the optometrist spent quite a lot of time discussing with me how I use a computer and where and where the screen is. He said the top of the screen should be nose height. This one is but it is not that easy at work to get a screen at that height. It’s about saving your eyes and your neck. So , all in all, a check up which was well worth while.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

2 thoughts on “Look after your eyes

Leave a Reply

