Posted in flying, leg exercises, travel health, travelling

Travel Health

I have been back to  flying around a bit this year (no, I haven’t had the broomstick out!) and it has reminded me that I do actually do my best to stay healthy as I travel around. Luckily no long haul flights are involved because they are very wearing and you do have to pay careful attention to your health as you prepare for the long haul. For me, resting enough before had is important. Not always possible because I get quite excited about flying! I love the adrenalin rush on the runway.So rest. Rest before and then I try to make sure I have a chance to rest and recuperate after the flight . I build in some down time. I make sure I am hydrated and drink plenty of water at the airport and then have a drink on the plane. After I swear by pineapple juice. The first thing after getting off the plane is to locate my pineapple juice. It seems to combat the headiness. As for clothing I do the layering because some flights are too warm and some are too cold so layering works for me.  I don’t lug great heavy bags onto the plane either. I pack my stuff and my on board bag just has personal bits and pieces, something to read , my phone and my MP3 player. I invariably snooze on the plane because I often don’t sleep well the night before a trip. Lastly, I remember my leg exercises and ,no matter how squashed in I am, I at least twirl my feet and move my legs as much as I can.
Air Canada has some really good information on flying, so if you are up, up and away, don’t forget your travel health!
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

