Posted in keeping warm, managing the cold, winter

Wind up for Winter

I hate winter. I know we need the rain and some of the plants need a rest, but I don’t do cold, wet, freezing and grey. It’s all in my attitude. I love summer. I relish it. It was a chance conversation which alerted me to the fact I just block myself out from winter. The lady I spoke to was coming up with all sorts of reasons to love winter and I was coming back with all sorts of reasons to love summer. In 5 minutes we did each other a lot of good. Sarah Brooks-Wilson at Yahoo has written a great article to get me and people like me kick started for winter. I have also worked out a few things for myself. I swear by thermal underwear. Keeping warm is part of my problem. I just get cold. I hate being rugged up and swamped with clothes. So thermal underwear is great. Then comes the layer of elastane or lycra…a nice top made of stretchy stuff which doesn’t bulk. Then comes the wool! Wool keeps me really warm. Synthetics don’t and the layered approach is perfect. The next trick is scarves and gloves. Never go out without a nice scarf and some decent gloves. Scarves are great because they can be so cuddly and so cater to my need for coddling. The last thing I do in winter is make sure I have some plans and projects. If I get up and it’s cold and wet my instinct is to curl up and stay inside. That’s okay sometimes but too much makes me miserable. So if I have my plans and projects I make sure I am getting out and about for a good reason. It gets me out the door!
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

