Posted in fitness, keeping fit, Opera House, wellbeing

City Fitness

I have just had a trip to Sydney and one of the really unexpected bonuses was how fit and healthy it has made me. A month ago I was in Melbourne and that helped but not like Sydney so now I am thinking of places I have been where it has improved my health and wellbeing. Sydney really gets you fit. I was staying in Darling Harbour and so it was a walk up over the walkway and down lots of steps to get onto
the Harbour,…and climbing lots of steps to get back! In the Chinese Garden of Friendship , which is just so beautiful,there you start off flat and then you climb the stone steps to the top and walk down again. Taronga Zoo is all uphill , then down hill, then uphill and then up steps. It is built on the harbourside .To go stupendous for the animals and the views. If I was shopping it was uphill to the  the Queen Victoria Arcade and down the steps to the Town Hall station. Sydney is uphill and downhill and plenty of steps. Vanuatu had a marvellous impact on my health too because it was humid and tropical and I do that well and the food was very natural and unspoiled and there was plenty of walking to be done. I realise I will walk more in places where there are plenty of other people out and about. That’s  important for safety, the people factor. So, where have you been where it has kept you fit? Now I have thought about it I am going to make a point of including that kind of natural fitness in my travel plans.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

