Posted in holidays, slow living, Stress Management, work-life balance

Get away!

Get away. Just plan, pick yourself up and take yourself off somewhere different. It rejuvenates, renews, inspires and refreshes. For 3 years I haven’t been able to go anywhere because of family circumstance and I was just becoming swamped and lost. It wasn’t my family’s fault. Life just gets like that sometimes. So, now there has been a change again, and the change always comes, I have just gone away. It is the only way to reinvigorate yourself. I have had a day in another capital city which was quite an adventure because I have never just flown interstate for the day. It was on business, but it was such a change and so nice. Recently I have done 3 days interstate and 5 days interstate which were trips more in my control so I really had a chance to get out and look at what I wanted and form both trips I have come home totally refreshed and energised even though they were only short breaks. Before I would have thought it a waste of time to just go away for a few days. Not true, that is so not true. When you plant yourself elsewhere you are making it possible to see everything from a new angle, a fresh perspective. It’s the daily routine and expectation which drags you down. On this last trip there was an even better twist on this getting away. My dog has cancer so I didn’t want her booked in anywhere. I just happened to have a friend who has been housebound because of recent ill health who welcomed the chance to get away to my place when I made the suggestion. Ill health meant his finances were low, so taking a break at my place which is nice and comfortable, by the sea and has plenty of amenities was something which cheered him up immensely …plus he loved having my dog! House sitting for a few days was the perfect solution to his need for a get away. Everybody needs a break and you come back ready to do battle again!
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

