Posted in etiquette, manners, mobile phones

Manners on the way up

Customers in one Sydney cafe are confronted with a sign showing a mobile in a red circle with a slash through it. It reads: “Please do not order take-away coffee whilst on your mobile phone. Thank you.”
I was pleased to read this. I have been doing the same as a customer. When I am being served by someone on checkout on their mobile – internal store phone or not., I just put my things down and leave. It is rude. Either serve me or talk on the phone. My daughter uses the same tactic as the cafe in her job. She just says she’ll wait until they have finishes their call and then helps  the next client. It is that simple. We are real. We are there. I am not an annex of anyone’s life and it’s about respecting and acknowledging the presence of another person. So, keep it up. We need to stop this misplaced sense of self importance that some people have.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

