Posted in healthy habits, new habits, Stress Busting, wellbeing

Breaking Bad Habits

This article gives you some good tips on breaking bad habits. Stress hormones can make you form habits – good or bad, so when you are stressed it is probably a good time to work on good behaviours and work off the stress with some exercise, yoga, digging. I find if I am really wound up I need to really get stuck into something active and I use that to clean, groom the dog, do my yoga, heavy gardening. It gets the adrenalin to balance itself and get through my system and it makes me feel a lot better. Sitting when you are stressed is not good in my experience. You also need to be aware of what it is you want to change about your habits. Do a stock take. Then you need to think of what good changes you want to make. it is no use waiting and thinking you’ll deal with it at some stage. Planning the changes are important and help you succeed because you are more aware of something which you need to break and more aware of what you want to encourage in yourself. I am also a great one for saying things out loud . “No, you are not going to do that…you are going to do this. ” I find saying things aloud helps me to break the bad ways and get the new ways going. I don’t mind if people hear me. It makes everyone laugh and that has to be good!
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

