Posted in books, Linchpin, relaxing, Seth Godin

Pick up a good book

Can’t replace a good book and I was thinking myself I haven’t done much reading in terms of novel reading even though I have a couple of books sitting by my chair. You cannot replace the sheer pleasure of getting lost in a book. I have actually encouraged others to get reading but haven’t got myself back into it. So this article was a timely find. Books can get you lost in a world where you feel relaxed and tuned out form daily cares. They absorb you and help you to relax in no uncertain manner. Whether e-books have that same capacity I don’t know because I can’t seem to read in electronic format. Not for pleasure and at length. I never relax with an e-book. I end up going onto web sites to read. We are lucky here in that we are a state which has a tradition and culture of reading so you don’t have to go far before you find someone who will lend you a really good book to read or suggest a number of titles. Note to self : Get back into your reading! Last book I read a couple of months ago and really enjoyed it was Seth Godin’s Linchpin.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

