Posted in dental health, oral hygienists, teeth, wellbeing

Oral hygienists rock!!

Finally!! Finally!! I got the cleanest mouth of the day award and a bag of dental goodies on Thursday. I walked away so pleased with myself, pleased they had cared and pleased that finally dentists and dental workers could see and understand the value of a helpful, friendly , educative approach to mouths and teeth!! Win-win. I thought it was nice they gave me a bag of goodies! My previous oral hygienist had led the way. She was totally committed to getting me to learn the things which would help me and my mouth. She explained why I needed to changed tooth brushes, why a spot of bicarb in a bottle of water would help. She showed me the tooth mousse and encouraged me to try it. She discussed the food I was eating and the drinks I was drinking and explained what they were all capable of in terms of damaging my mouth. She came up with the work arounds. The new oral hygienist has been friendly and supportive of all my work and has been such a thorough and patient worker on my mouth I have leaned not just to rush and brush, I have learned to slow down and make an effort with cleaning, flossing, checking. It takes little time but the approach has been far better.So now the dentist is delighted and my mouth is the cleanest!! It means I am saving my teeth and I am not having the long and horrible treatments I had before. Teaching people works and oral hygienists are in a prime position to deliver that education . What they lose in tooth repairs they gain in products. The tooth brushes work. The tooth mousse is brilliant. I no longer avoid the dentist…so no cancelled visits from me and I can now advocate them with a big smile.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

