Posted in asthma, asthma attacks over Christmas, Christmas, Christmas trees, wellbeing

Avoiding asthma over Christmas

The National Asthma Council spokeswoman Kristine Whorlow says many people don’t know that the humble Christmas tree can also be an asthma trigger.

Yes, Christmas decorations can contribute to asthma symptoms and feeling of discomfort in those who suffer from asthma and I guess the stress would be a contributing factor two if your Christmas is created in a stressful atmosphere. Trees can harbour dust, they can give off odours if they are fresh and then there are the perfumed candles and incense which people have for atmosphere. I learned two years ago that even just having the candles in the room without lighting them can cause attacks. I am now more mindful about what I have in my main gathering area. I also make sure people know they can tell me if some perfume or smell is affecting them. It is important just to make it a conversational approach so that no one feels they have to put up with things.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

