Posted in basic casualty care, emergency, first aid, Red Cross, St. John's Ambulance

First Aid

Every time I go through my basic casualty care, BELLS, refresher and update I always reaffirm that I am  glad I have done it and I believe everyone should. I know some people don’t feel comfortable giving first aid to people in dire situations. I know they feel fearful of getting it wrong and today’s litigation lunacy doesn’t help. It is now part of the course that you ask permission to give first aid if the person is conscious. I didn’t feel confident and so a few years ago  I did a senior first aid certificate and that was taught so thoroughly that more of it stuck. What occurred to me today is that a lot of things have changed, a lot of things are different but the basic principle of your being the one who knows enough just to help enough before the expert arrive could make quite a difference. I have always been grateful I have kept up my first aid skills because they have helped me help others. If nothing else it gives you some things to do when things are going wrong and it is better than being there and doing nothing. If you get a chance, do it. The courses are extremely well run.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

