Posted in part time work, work-life balance

Working part time

I love my job. I have always found it interesting and challenging . It had come to the state where I was always feeling tired and couldn’t be bothered with a lot of things. All I was doing was my job and even though I did other things I was just getting worn out. I have always worked full time and have never thought of being part time but my health was deteriorating and my life was not very satisfying because I was tired all the time. So, I made a big decision to remedy this, took to my pen and paper and worked out how to live on a part time wage. It has been two months now . I have to think about what I can buy and whether I need it. I cannot just buy what I want. I have freed up time within the system so someone else can have a job. I sleep properly at night and I have started to be enthusiastic about what I do. I was talking to two other people who had arrived at the same conclusion as I did. We were all saying how we do our job better and with more thought and consideration because we are not strained or pushed to our limit. We are all competent and always have been. So the three of us have freed up enough time for more than one other person to get a full time job. We are all looking well and relaxed. My skin is better, I breathe better, I have more energy and I have plans! I have a good balance between interface and face time and I can get outside during the day. Being in the fresh air during the day has been a gift in my life. I can get things done. I don’t have to try and squash in repair people or shopping on top of an already chock full day. Going through winter will be the real test for me because I find winter hard. I cannot see myself going back full time because I have been feeling so well. My head works, I can exercise and I can see people during the week. Really see people. Have some great conversations. It is not always easy to make a big change, but I planned this one carefully.It was worth it.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

