Posted in exercise, happiness, Health, positive attitude

Take that, winter!

Finally! Finally I have a plan which can get me through winter. Already I can feel the days and nights starting to warm a bit and I have been in the best mood ever this winter. So part one of the plan was to shift the spring clean to a winter clean as I blogged in my previous post. My home looks so nice and others have noticed too. Part two of the plan has been to work on myself. I caught a horrible virus. I have not been that sick in years. I just had to tough it out, take the zinc, the anti bacterial lozenges, the Vit C and wait for the coughing and  feeling horrid to subside. I was getting so tired. The zinc tablets made a difference and so I thought I should go through my nutrition. I eat pretty healthily but some tweaking here and there wouldn’t go astray – so out came the health and wellbeing magazines and I have got some great new recipes I have been trying and am making sure I drink my water. I do yoga all the time but the virus had really messed up my resistance and stamina so I thought I could probably do with some resistance training and a bit of an extra work out to get me breathing properly again. I waited and waited. The virus took its time. At the first sign of sun I went into my garage and got my exercise bike out and brought it indoors. It’s small and very convenient so takes up little room. I peddled for a while and could feel I was out of shape. So I sat down and with all the help and advice you can get from people who want to help you on the net and in magazines I have worked out a modest plan. I cycle a bit each day. I do some resisitance work on my arms and legs. I use an old woollen scarf which goes around the bottom of my feet to help me do sit ups. I have  some small weights which I can use to vary things a bit and I still do my yoga. I walk when I can but it is not always convenient where I live so the exercise bike does the trick. Already, two weeks down the track I feel so much better and am able to do things more easily. I am not a slave to exercise but I can see the activity is having a good effect and honestly, this year, winter has just flown!!
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

One thought on “Take that, winter!

Leave a Reply

