Posted in exercise, exercise bikes, happiness, Health, wellbeing

Exercise bikes

Photo: Scott Curry pics4learning.com

Cycling at 15 kilometres per hour (9 miles per hour) burns nearly 12 kilojoules / 3 calories per kilo of body weight every half an hour. For a person weighing 100 kilos, that equates to 1200 kilojoules or 300 calories every 30 minutes. 

Weightloss.com.au comes up with some very good reasons for using an exercise bike. As I said, I had got my one out of the shed, cleaned it up and have been using it every day. It’s been over a fortnight now and people are starting to make comments. They say things like I look like I have lost weight and that I look relaxed. After nearly 3 weeks of daily cycling without overdoing it I can manage stairs and shopping better. I can lift and carry things better. I am breathing more freely. I have energy to do things. I am sleeping better and I am more toned. My skin and hair look better. I do not do heaps of cycling. 15 minutes. When that gets really easy I shall lift it to 20minutes. I am not pushing myself. I find this is better than a treadmill. You cannot fall off a bike. You cannot go any faster than you peddle. I feel like I am the one controlling this. I can sit comfortably even though mine is just a little bike. It does the job. I feel happier because I can see I am doing something for myself without having to push myself . It is something I can comfortably do and feel as though I have really helped myself so it has a good psychological impact too. So I am motivated now to keep it up because my clothes are fitting better and I am feeling and looking better.  I think one of the things people do is they go too hard at things and then they create a failure model for themselves. I am doing what I can do and will move on when I know I can accomplish the next level of fitness. 

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

