Posted in Bunnings, home improvement, refurbishing

Refurbishing fun!

The spot by my door was looking a bit sad with the little table I had there. Just didn’t look right. I have a number of pine furniture pieces and then some turn of last century stuff and I figured a better table wouldn’t go astray. I went op shopping and then second hand shopping and turned up these drawers . The wood was dry and out of condition. They had black , plastic knobs (???) and plenty of candlewax and a couple of cigarette burns on the top. They are very solid , though, and the wood was perfect for matching with the other pieces. I sanded the top and used beeswax and some polish and brought it up and then conditioned the rest of the wood with olive oil and beeswax. I then went to Bunnings (my fairyland) and bought the lovely brass knobs. Everyone is quite impressed and taken with my new chest of drawers. So with a bit of thought and rummaging, I have made a good change to my home . Takes my mind off the rain and cold!!
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

