Posted in art deco, home decorating, positive thinking, style

Value the gifts

My sister gave my the lovely birthday card at the top of the picture. It seemed too nice to recycle. I decided I’d frame it and I did recycle a frame doing that. An old picture which had no further use has become this delightful new one. I looked around my home for things I could add to make the effect of the picture just right and then I went out and bought the vase and the roses because I had nothing suitable at home. In a nutshell, it has renewed my interest in art deco and art nouveau, it gave me an afternoon of pleasure just imagining how I would make this card look good and then getting the elements of my creation together. It’s in my spare room but I can see it from my kitchen and dining room and it has evolved into a happy spot which draws comment. The gift of the card was so much more and now I can look at that lovely lady sitting at the café table and just enjoy the splendour of it.
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

