Posted in Mills and Boon, night nursing, op shopping, positive thinking, wellbeing

Op shops open your eyes

I got more than this bargain at the op shop today. I got taught about real life as others live it. My bargain was $7 dollars and I  love it. It will be well used even if I don’t have all the bits. The op shop lady was kind enough to go out the back to find me a box so I could  my dinner set more easily. While I was waiting the other op shop lady was serving another woman with a big box of Mills and Boon books. At first I thought she had come to give them to the shop, but no, she was buying the whole big box and there were heaps of books in there. She then explained she was a night nurse and was mainly just dealing with sleeping patients. She said she had to find  ways of keeping awake and she had found she could read one of these books in a night and they would keep her awake so she could look after her patients. By that time my op shop lady had returned with my box and had heard the end of the story. It was a humbling moment but then one where we expressed our admiration for the night nurse. You know, if all it takes is a Mills and Boon to keep a night nurse coping, then maybe we need to be with each other more often so we can really find out what people want. They don’t get to say and I would never have guessed. 
Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

