Posted in dog attack, knee, knee injury, knee pain, positive attitude, positive thinking

The great knee challenge

It’s a fortnight tomorrow since the labrador retriever cross slammed into my leg. It has been quite challenging and hard because I am normally very active. The knee exercises worked. Pedalling on my exercise bike for short amounts of time really helped. Resting it helped. Having a bath helped. Bracing it with a knee brace helped. Wearing good sneakers helped. What also helped was the amount of encouragement and praise I got at work. People could see I was struggling at times but they kept chatting to me and kept me moving and came along side me at my pace. They let me work out what I could and couldn’t do by myself but then they really encouraged me when they could see I was going along better and better. They also were good at making me laugh. Toughing it out was worth it. My leg is almost back to normal. I can go up and down stairs slowly. I can almost manage slopes and I have been able to do some of my yoga poses. I still have trouble getting up if I crouch or squat. Pushing myself safely through different routines has brought back normal knee use. I don’t need the knee brace anymore but I do need proper shoes with non slip soles. I cannot afford to unbalance that knee at all. Tackling it this way means I have been able to take control of my injury and work through it. I needed things to do and I needed to be able to gauge how well I was doing , so having benchmarks and goals was a good plan. By the end of next week I am expecting to be practically perfect in every way. Cannot wait!
See part one of the story.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

