Posted in fitness, home and garden, positive attitude, potting shed, problem solving, project

Potting on

My newly created potting shed isn’t quite paradise yet, but it will solve a number of problems for me. On my fence line is a massive gum tree which the neighbours cannot control. It puts gum nuts, bark, twigs and occasionally branches onto the bottom of my garden and can make it unuseable. The other neighbours have a German Shepherd which I found out had been coming into my garden and they had broken the fence to get it back in theirs. I found this out when I got my new dog. The Shepherd came to find it. Originally I had a pool down the back but it had to go because the gum tree was making too much mess in the pool whether I had a a cover or not. It was a massive task to clean it for the summer ..then two biggish branches came down and I thought – this is now dangerous. I removed the pool and so the pool shed fell into disuse. The fence is still there to protect the pool so I have been setting up a veggie patch. I then thought I would reclaim the shed and area and force the neighbours to do something about their dog. That part seems to be working. They now know I am down the back and they keep a better eye on their dog. I had spoken to them about it but I don’t actually think they know how to manage a large dog. I have had to work hard to clear the things from the gum tree and to create a bit of a path, get the old stuff out of the shed and set it up for potting. It means the other neighbours know I am down there clearing up all their gum tree stuff. I am hoping they might take control of it. Not easy given the size of the tree. My potting shed now means I can get seeds ready for summer and  I have a place to be in winter because I am very bad at being in the garden when it gets cold. It means I can get cuttings going of my favourite plants and it also means I can store the things I need for in the veggie patch instead of constandly walking up to the big shed for them. I can see the difference. It is a lot of work and all manual labour so it is keeping me fit and active. In time I am hoping this will be an area which has a special charm and I am working towards that. So my potting shed:
1. Is solving the annoying dog problem
2. May solve the annoying gum tree problem
3. Is helping to develop my veggie patch
4. Has inspired me to be creative
5. Is a little place to be outside in winter
6. Is keeping me fit
I have been really enjoying working on it because it has been inspiring. I can really recommend setting up a project which will, in turn, solve other problems you are dealing with!
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

