Posted in exercise, fitness, gardening, Health, nature, positive attitude

How does your garden grow?

This is a Smarty Pants bougainvillea. I love the colour and the honey eating birds love it too. My garden has been going through the changes again. I seem to change it every so often . I realise out the back it has fewer flowers than it used to have because of the drought we had. I lost a lot of flowering trees and shrubs. I replaced them with succulents which have their own look . My garden is moving onto a tropical look these days. Palms, monsteras, philodendrons, passionfruit. It is interesting to watch my garden change. It always looks at its best around October and November. For me, it is how I get my exercise. I have the fresh air, nature, the work to be done and there’s always plenty of that. I am physically active in my garden. No pottering and gentle pruning for me. I don’t have trouble focussing on the work to be done and then just doing it. I’d never swap it for a gym. So my garden and walking my dog keep me healthy. I look at new houses these days and they have very little by way of gardens and that is a shame. People don’t seem to want to work on their own bit of land anymore. Children grow up without seeing a garden change on a seasonal basis. In summer mine looks dry and crispy at times. I did get it through this summer well. That in itself is a challenge. I have to think how I will get my garden to deal with particular weather impacting on it. It’s  good to think about and sometimes it makes me quite creative. It’s nice to have this place AI can go which adds to me in all sorts of ways. I wonder how people manage without a garden and what replaces it in their lives. Nature is very healing.
Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

