Posted in books, United States

The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque

PortraitofMrsCharbuqueJeffrey Ford knows how to write a good book which keeps you absorbed and guessing. Part of my current challenge was to read a chapter of a book everyday. I chose The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque because I had started reading it and had then just left it. Not because of the book but because of my life.  It had just exploded into being busy and things like reading were being neglected. It’s a fascinating story and you never know where it is going to go next. It is set in 19th century New York and is full of art and artists. It is really good to read a book where you find out a lot about the way artists do things and go about things. It is bizarre and like nothing else I have read because it is so strange. In the end it is why it becomes compelling. I had started to read my one chapter a day which became two which became three and soon I needed to finish the book. It is well written and in many respects you are held at a distance so that you view the work and observe. Art appreciation. The story then takes a turn and you are hooked and lost in the reading of it . I cannot say more. It would spoil it for you if you want to read it.

Author:

Retired Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom, wherever that might be, to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

