Posted in Environment, Health, self care, skin care, sustainability, wellbeing

Homemade eco deodorant

I decided to try this recipe for eco deodorant because I had all the ingredients and containers. I also tried the idea from yesterday’s video to put the solid deodorant into a twist stick. As you can see from my picture it’s not as neat as the one in yesterday’s video. That will come with practice. The only thing I changed in the recipe was to swap the quantities of baking soda and corn starch. I also used bicarbonate instead of baking soda. It does come out a lovely lemony colour and it smells really nice. I put it in the fridge to harden. I mixed it for a few minutes to make sure the solution wouldn’t separate and that seems to have done the trick. Next time I think I’ll use my stab blender to mix it up. Today was a good day to try it in Adelaide because it is 36 degrees Celsius and a bit humid. So far all is going well. I also had some left over I couldn’t get out of the bowl. I used that on my hands and it has really softened and hydrated them. Bit of a bonus really! Why am I bothering? Because deodorants go onto the skin in your armpits and that is where significant lymph glands are located. I take the point from the eco deodorant fans that it’s probably a good idea to really check what is in your deodorant and antiperspirant. It wasn’t much bother to try this out , though. It took me 5 minutes to make it and about 3 minutes of constant stirring and then 2 minutes to put it into containers. It seems to be working. I have a longish car drive to make in the heat later on and that really will be a test.

Update 8/1/2017

My eco deodorant not only survived a long, hot drive, it has worked on days over 40 degrees Celsius as well. I was wondering if it would melt in the heat but it doesn’t.  My friends and family are assuring me this recipe is working and I feel a lot happier now because it is totally natural and so easy to make.

 

Author:

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

3 thoughts on “Homemade eco deodorant

  1. Thanks for sharing! Did it work on your long drive? After 8 months of hit and miss recipes and products, I finally found an all natural product that doesn’t use anything dangerous. It uses probiotics that fight the proliferation of the bacteria that causes body odor in perspiration. It’s pretty amazing. You can find their English Facebook page by searching Day dry North America (they are based in Paris, France). Hope this helps! I remember all of my trials and errors… yikes! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have tested mine every day since that post. it survived the long drive and days over 40 degrees Celsius. More than happy!! Thank you so much for commenting and for sharing that information and link. Will check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

